Thermal-icious

Thermal-done The yarn eating, endless knitting on size 2 needle Thermal sweater is complete!


Yes, it seemed to take an age but I’ve finished the finishing of my flat Thermal.  As you can see I changed a couple of things to make this a more portable project.  I opted knit the pieces flat and brought the neckline up some and made the body longer.  I wore a really low ass cracky pair of jeans in the above photo to see how low I could go, so to speak, and this sweater is now about as long as the really long t-shirt I’ve got on underneath it.  Excellent, no fear of bending over with this sweater on.


I based my flat version off of Laura’s measurements and customized them a bit to fit me.  I also knit the neckbands separately so I could use a tubular cast on to get a really pretty finished edge to the bands.  That meant sewing them on, achingly slowly, but I much like the polished finished look to any of the cast off methods available.  The tubular cast off is ok, but the tubular cast on is much nicer.


I used the Thermal pattern, 11 skeins of Rowan 4 Ply Soft (100% merino wool) in colorway 370 (191 yds/50g), size 2 needles and buttons from the stash.  Now I just need some autumnal weather to wear this little number.  Until then, it’ll be “resting”.

21 responses

  1. Love it! I’m still working (endlessly) on mine. Added length and raised neckline, but I’m working in the round and I’m not sure I’ll EVER finish – since you have time on your hands, perhaps I could send it to you ;-). Great job!

Comments are closed.