Sweater surprise

Hanna11 What's a heatwave without a new sweater?  That's my motto anyway.

I finished my Hanna sweater so quickly I didn't even have time to blog about it.  I started this luscious number right before going on my vacation.  I thought February Lady would be too big and heavy to bring with me (I had to optimize suitcase room for Swiss chocolate transportation).

I'd had my eye on Hanna for quite a while and decided it was time to pull the trigger and get some acceptable yarn.  There are several yarns mentioned in the pattern as working with this pattern.  Hanna22 All are mohair except the Nashua Handknits Creative Focus Brushed Alpaca.  I think mohair is pretty, but it feels like wearing a sweater made of live ants so that was definitely out.  The Brushed Alpaca is fluffy but is really soft and doesn't make my skin crawl.  That's a recommendation if you ever hear one isn't it?

Another plus is that this pattern is knit up on rather large needles (5.5 mm in my case) so it's quick and knit mostly in the round so seaming is minimal.  I used four balls of the Brushed Alpaca with almost none left over to make the size medium.  My yarn came from Royal Yarns and is the Autumn Red colorway.  The pattern is Hanna from Cocoknits.  The only mod I made was to make the sleeves 4.25" longer than the pattern calls for.  Now I must wait for cooler weather to snuggle in my alpaca yummster.

16 responses

  1. What a gorgeous sweater! I went right over and bought the pattern. I have had some GGH Soft Kid in my stash for three years now, and this is the perfect pattern to use it up.

Comments are closed.