Pumpkins on the brain

Apres-body My Imp colored Apres Surf Hoodie is looking decidedly pumpkin-y to me.  I love the autumn and when the pumpkins show up in the stores, I'm a happy girl.  I don't care that it's still 80 degrees at home, it's fall dammit.

So my rapid progress on Apres Surf is spurred my desire to finish a pumpkin-y sweater for Rhinebeck.  I've not got much time left (less than a week) but the front and back are done, shoulders seamed and hood begun.  Pretty good.

What?  What's that you're shouting at your computer screen at me? 

Sleeves, you dumb ass! 

Well sassy readers, I've got one sleeve almost done.  It was my "swatch", so I really only have the hood and one sleeve to go.

What?  What's that you're sassing at me now? 

You have a damn job, you can't just sit around and knit! 

Actually, as of 8:30 pm EST today I have EIGHTEEN days off.  I shout that because I've been working flat out since the 1st to "pay" for the time off.  So the cross country flight to my sister's house and NYS&W in addition to vacation time will leave me breathlessly close to finishing this Apres Surf.

Which brings me back to pumpkins.  I love pumpkin anything.  Remember last fall's post on Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins?  I do!  I came across another pumpkin recipe I'm itching to try.  I was watching the local news in Kansas City the other day (see how my layovers are so darn glamourous?), and their cooking segment was a super easy Tuscan Pumpkin White Bean Soup.  The ingredient list is pretty much in the title there, it's that easy.  I'm seeing this with crusty bread and a bit of nice Gruyere.  Pull up a bowl and get knitting.

12 responses

  1. Where is it in the 80’s?! It’s been in the 60’s here the last few days and windy.
    You have enough time to finish that sweater as long as you don’t spend too much time with that soup.
    And don’t forget to pack your red lace. You should make Claudia crazy jealous with it’s fabulousness. ;^)

  2. Waaah! It’s in the 30’s here and snowing.
    But that makes the Tuscan soup sound all the better – and I even have all of the ingredients. Maybe I’ll make that tomorrow.

  3. How about pumpkin cheesecake? I made this for a Rock Day party at the local spinning guild some years ago:
    For crust
    Approximately 8 ounces of pound cake
    1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
    For filling
    2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
    1 lb whole milk ricotta
    1 1/3 cups sugar
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
    1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
    1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    1 15-ounce can solid pack pumpkin
    3 large eggs
    1 tablespoon vanilla extract
    Make crust:
    Preheat oven to 350¯F. Grind the pound cake into crumbs in a food processor or blender. Mix in the cinnamon. Press the crumbs onto bottom and 1 inch up sides of 9-inch-diameter springform pan with 2 3/4-inch-high sides. Bake until lightly toasted, about 10 minutes. Cool. Wrap outside of pan with double thickness of heavy-duty foil.
    Make filling:
    Using electric mixer, beat first 4 ingredients in large bowl until smooth. Add pumpkin; beat until blended. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until smooth. Transfer to crust. Set in roasting pan. Pour enough hot water into roasting pan to come 1 inch up sides of springform pan.
    Bake cake until top is golden and center is set, about 1 hour 45 minutes. Remove from roasting pan. Cool. Chill overnight. (Can be made 2 days ahead. Cover and keep chilled.)

  4. Hmm, that recipe for the soup sounds good. The link you put on your blog awhile ago for the dip turned out very tasty indeed.
    Good luck with finishing the sweater. You seem to be pretty close. Enjoy your 18 days off. Sounds like you worked hard for it and deserve it.

  5. How about pumpkin pie dip?
    Pumpkin Pie Dip
    1 8oz. cream cheese softened
    2 c. powdered sugar
    1 tspn cinnamon
    1/2 tspn nutmeg
    1/2 tspn ginger
    1 15oz. can pumpkin
    Mix together and serve with Nilla Wafers (non-fat wafers seem to work best for dipping)

  6. Yay! I’ll be wearing mine Saturday! And probably sweating like crazy. I don’t care though, half the fun of Rbeck is the sweaters on parade part.

Comments are closed.