Now some knitting!

Fair-isle-comp I've been intrigued by fair isle knitting and love Elizabeth Zimmermann's style of creating sweaters.  I thought I'd try a fair isle sweater ala Elizabeth using some not so precious yarn to give me the courage to steek the front for a cardigan.

I picked up some Cascade 220 in a pretty wasabi heather green color for the body and my favorite pink/green combination yarns for the fair isle.  I've been auditioning fair isle motifs and the one pictured above is a chart from Rowan #36 Helga (rav link).  I like the motif, but maybe rejigger the color placements.  Maybe I'll pick something else entirely, maybe one of Elizabeth's traditional motifs.

Luckily, knitting a cardigan in the round from the bottom up, I have time to experiment.  My swatch gauge is proofed in the sleeve, so that's a good thing.  I'm planning a slightly fitted cardie with garter stitch borders.  Easy!?  Hopefully.  Any fair isle motifs I should look at?

7 responses

  1. I’ve been wanting to try the fair isle too! The swatch looks great! I’m loving the colors you’ve chosen and agree with you about rearranging the color placements. The pattern isn’t standing out the way it should! I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun playing with the endless combinations!

  2. Annie borrowed my Starmore books yesterday, else I’d look up and zap some motifs for you. Love your colors but would definitely shift them around a bit. Can’t wait to see what you make!

Comments are closed.