Dresses are the new pants

Burda-dress I was inspired to sew up a dress the other day after seeing the cute stuff over at Joy's wonderful blog.  I especially loved her purple pullover empire dress aka Burda 7808.

So there I was, inspired and with a few days off work.  Hmmm.  Luckily I found some mystery gunmetal gray fabric in my garage stash that would work with Burda 7808.  I think it must be some sort of wool/rayon blend.  I didn't know if it was washable, but that uncertainty never stops me from shoving the fabric into the washer.  I hate dry cleaning so I pretty much always prewash fabric to make washable garments.  The gray fabric came out great, it had a slight wrinkle to it that I really liked.  BTW, the fabric is in no way shiny as suggested by the photos, it's just that my photos suck.

I think this dress has a slight Japanese aesthetic.  I love those Japanese patterns and books but am too lazy to decipher the Japanese directions and pattern.  I made many of the same mods that Joy did.  I skipped the sleeve plackets, made the giant collar smaller and skipped the side zipper.  I should have made the next size up since it's not exactly easy getting this up and over the melon, but it works well enough.  I also opted to add the slightly rounded gathered front pockets to hold my little trinkets and trifles.  Added later:  I also shortened the pattern about 2.5" as I wanted it to land in the knee area.

Another good thing about this dress, I took these pictures after wearing this on a cross country flight and it looks just fine.  Yay!  Good travel dress.  I've got alot of work flying starting now since holidays mean work for me.

14 responses

  1. Love the boots! Great look. And that fabric color is magical with your hair.
    The pattern looks Japanese-esque to me, too, but I can’t quite figure out why.

  2. Fashion is not part of my world (though I do have enough sense to leave the 80’s shoulder pads in the 80’s – I’m not that clueless). But damn. That dress is really cute and paired with boots it’s completely fab! And the color is great too.
    It takes a lot to wake up the teeny part of my brain that’s interested in clothing style but you just did!

Comments are closed.