It should close

It-closes As my sister once said, I have fit issues when I knit.  I don't really know why, perhaps it's just not attention to swatching or I'm making the wrong size.  What ev.  I did decideto baste my CPH together to see if the darn thing would fit if I finished it.

So as you can see in the crap picture, I basted the sides up and safety pinned the shoulders.  Ok, that was fine.  It looked like one of those weird vests folks wore in the 70s with their bell bottoms and forehead strings, but fine.  I decided to try to close up the front seam to see if I could.  Well I could close it up with straight pins, but it's tight.

Not to worry though, I've got to add the 2 1/2" front bands.  I think the fit should be pretty good with the additional 2 1/2" bands.  It will fit just fine over tshirts, which is as layered up as I need to get in California.  I think I may end up actually wearing this sweater if my prognostications hold up.  (As opposed to giving many of my finished objects to Goodwill – which is what usually happens btw.)

9 responses

  1. ummm so next time before you send a sweater to the goodwill… feel free to let me know first 🙂
    also this serves as reminder… time to wind up the yarn for that sweater 🙂

  2. It looks like it will be fine. I think that’s about how mine fit before I put the button bands on it. You could also do clasps or button loops on the edge of the button band, so that the bands don’t overlap, and gain a little extra width that way.

  3. Isn’t it terrible the way you think you’ll wear that great sweater after you make it? My biggest problem is falling out of love with the color I pick for something. I’m rooting for your CPH to make the cut!

  4. I think that your CPH should fit once completed, since you still have the bands to go. And it may block out a bit larger too. Keep going on it!
    I can’t believe you give away your finished knits to Goodwill!

Comments are closed.