Is that spring?

Nectar_2d_3d Spring is alive and well in California, so my thoughts have turned to spring sweaters.  I've wanted to check out the Nectar book by Kim Hargreaves for ages.  The sweaters featured are lovely and a cut above many of the spring and summer offerings around.  Now this is book is on the pricier side ($30-ish), but my birthday just came and I thought buying a copy would be just the right present.  (I bought mine from the Kim Hargreaves site, but you can find it from many sources.)RippleX3

My first Nectar project is planned to be Ripple.  That front bodice really appeals, kind of like a tuxedo sweater.  The yarn featured in the pattern is RYC Classic Bamboo Soft.  I rav-ed the yarn and saw that some folks found it splitty (the bamboo factor I'm guessing).  Since splitty would drive me mad, I thought I'd look about for a similar weight yarn that's non-splitty.  Maybe something with silk :)  Bamboo Soft is gauge 23 sts x 30 rows.  Any ideas?  Has anyone used Bamboo Soft and found it ok?  My local store doesn't have it so I can't touch it.

Back to work, my week ends Sunday night (fingers crossed)!

10 responses

  1. Spring here, too. feh I’m already tired of mowing.
    Love that sweater! Could you order a single ball of that yarn and see how it is? I think the bamboo content would make it a great spring/summer sweater.

  2. That is one lovely book. Being the cheapskate I am, I went to see if my library has it. They didn’t but they have another “Nectar” which is the story of one “Ramona Drottoveo, an albino… distinguished by the intoxicating scent she exudes, Ramona is despised by all women and adored by all men, whose inexhaustible lust she eagerly satisfies.”
    Let us know what you find about the bamboo yarn.

  3. I can definitely see why that book would be a good birthday present. Would Rowan’s Pure Life Cotton work? I have some of it and it doesn’t seem like it would be *too* splitty. Not silk, but some of the colors seem quite sophisticated to me.
    I’m starting a project in Rowan’s Milk Cotton, but can’t say too much yet other than I think it could be splitty. It is nice and soft, though.

  4. I agree with Theresa, I thought of the Pure Life Cotton as soon as I saw the picture. I love the sweater. I would totally be all over that book if I tackled sweaters, but I’m a small project kind of gal.
    However, I have been leaning more towards the UK and other European magazines and books. Lots of cool stuff across the pond!

  5. I’ve been going a little crazy with pattern books lately, and this looks like another one I’d love to own. I have lots of trust in Rowan yarns…there doesn’t seem to be a dud in the bunch…so I bet that bamboo soft is wonderful.

  6. Ooh…thanks for the turn on – I missed this book somehow. Lot’s of great patterns in there and it’s now on my must get list. It has some great ones using the denim yarn…and I do have a surplus.

Comments are closed.