Not so much with the Shiny

Shine-no-so-much

I finally did get my Knitpicks order and was able to start swatching up my Ripple.  The Shine Sport yarn is fine, but I just didn't like knitting with it.  The cotton/modal blend is smooth and soft, but there is no spring to the fiber.  Now that isn't really too unusual in a cotton yarn, but my main objection was I just didn't like the look of the knitted piece.  Clearly it was a problem with the synthesis of me and the yarn.

So I packed it up and returned the lot (minus the swatched skein of course) and ordered some Elann sport weight wool as I think I'd prefer knitting with a yarn with more spring.  I'll get to swatching that up next week when I finally have some quality time off…

8 responses

  1. Sensible. Life’s too short…
    Looks as if it needs a bit more twist in the singles and a lot more twist in the ply. A yarn with no inherent elasticity will make a lovely elastic fabric if it has memory. Sorry your Shine was forgetful.
    What’s with the blog tattoo being tsumi/guilt today? You okay???

  2. I’m sorry it didn’t work, but I am so glad you returned it. I think that yarn is popular because of the price. I have a sweater’s worth and I won’t be using it anytime soon. It seems to fuzz up as you knit with it and not in a good day. Claudia’s right. Life’s too short.

  3. So are you going to use the laceweight in the meantime? Can I recommend the Aeolian shawl from Knitty?
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring09/KSPATTaeolian.php
    and the Rav group
    http://www.ravelry.com/groups/aeolian-shawl-kal
    What’s the best about this is you can make it pretty much whatever size you want! And if you feel you might run out of yarn, the designer has written up an alternative narrower edging (although I think the edging is the best part!)

  4. I am not a fan of cotton yarn, period; however I am knitting the Parker Cardigan from Spring 09 IK with Shine sport and it seems to be working fine.
    Yep, I like it because it’s cheap. Let’s see how it holds up. I had started another pattern with it and it didn’t look right but I am very happy with how Parker is coming out.

  5. Update on Shine: yarn worked well on the Bud pattern section of the Parker Cardigan but not so much on the second part. The resulting fabric looked like a used dishrag! I had to use the bud pattern on all the cardigan which is OK but it is not the sweater I wanted. Oh, well…I’ll wear it over a dress.

Comments are closed.