Seersucker

Simpdress 

I made a pretty easy summer dress the other day.  It's Simplicity 2591 (view B) made with cotton seersucker in red and white.

The pattern is pretty easy, just a princess line bodice with a bit of gathering at the front and back skirt.  There's a pretty nifty pocket incorporated into the bodice and who doesn't like a pocket at the ready?

My favorite part of the pattern is the side bodice piece is cut on the bias making a subtle contrast to the straight grain front panel. Those kinds of details make me squeal.  Other than taking the top in under the arms to make sure I didn't get the unsightly boob showing gappage, I made no other mods.

I did find that after sewing up and pressing the seersucker, it was too crisp and flat looking.  I wanted my seer to sucker, as it were, so I promptly washed the dress and my sucker was back.  Am I right in thinking seersucker should look a bit "lived in at the beach" or "just took a nap under a tree"?  Both sound good today.

