Rhinebeck haul v.1

Rhinebeck ’09 has come and gone.  It was fun, delicious and cold this year.  Not rainy as predicted, so that was good!

Because Claudia and I don’t have super great fiber needs, our aims are more fun oriented.  We don’t have lists and must have vendors to visit, just leisurely strolling and visiting with friends as we pass.  This year there seemed to be tons yarn and fiber that is available at your local yarn shop or online, not to say this isn’t nice stuff, but not really why I haul my cookies across the entire country and hang out in the cold.

So did I even buy anything?  You bet!  I got these two hanks of sock yarn.  The top one is Holiday Yarns Flock Sock in Dreams colorway. The bottom one is from Ellen’s Half Pint Farm and sadly nameless, but still incredibly lovely.  I also bought a sweater’s worth of Cormo, which is my personal version of crack.  It’s a gorgeous green and at present in the hands of the Postal Service.  There’s only so much a suitcase can hold!

The other super fun thing we did was dine at Escoffier at the Culinary Institute of America with Laurie and Norma.  Yum!  Claudia has a video of the adorable waiter/student flaming the crepes tableside as well as pictures from the fairgrounds.  My pics pretty much sucked, so enjoy hers!

6 responses

  1. Mmm, I saw the video of the crepes.

    I could steal your top sock yarn, would that be ok? Please. Pretty please? Oh wait, I’m on a yarn diet. Oh well.

  2. I’m so sorry I didn’t get to see the two of you this year! And that dinner sure sounds better than the Wendy’s chicken nuggets we picked up on the way home…

  3. I am heartbroken that I did not run into you!!

    But the spirit I left from Friday night at Escoffier maybe helped light your crepes! Were you served by the kooky red-headed waiter-boy?

    I think he wanted our 4-top as sister wives by the end of the evening ;p

Comments are closed.