Bloomin’ hats!

The hat parade keeps rolling along.  Where this hat affinity has sprung from is anyone’s guess.

This cute hat is a free pattern called Bloom by Veruschka (rav link).  The yarn called for is a bulky weight, which I didn’t have.  My hat making is partly driven by using up odd stash yarn and I have tons of cream skeins of Woolease purchased with an eye toward blanket squares.  The blanket squares stalled and now I’ve got several skeins to use up.  I thought I’d try doubling the Woolease to get a bulky-ish gauge and then kind of wing it.

The pattern has you make the bottom band first then pick up the hat stitches from the band.  I knit up the band using the middle size of the pattern to fit my head. Then picked up as many stitches as was possible by the length of band I’d knitted and then increased on the first round to get the necessary stitches for the middle size hat.

Because doubled Woolease fabric is stiffer than the yarn called for I wanted to get just a little drape in the back, but not make a watch cap.  I thought the increases made a nice rounded effect above the band and gave it the look the designer had in the original.

Since my row gauge was off from the pattern my dimensions for a human sized hat gave me a 2″ bottom band, 3″ knitting straight before starting the petal motif; the petal motif is about 5″ long so my total hat length (flat) is 9.5″ (ish) from band to crown.  The reason I knew how long my petal motif would be is because I’d knit and ripped a few times.  I kept making the hat too long, which would have been perfect should I be sporting waist length dreads, or a B52s beehive do.  Sorry no pics of those particular horrors.

Bloom hat specs:  2 skeins Woolease worsted in cream (held double), size 8 needles (circs and dps).  I rather like the hat I ended up with and say what you will about Woolease, it’s soft and washable – two very good things in my world.

The next few days are my only Christmas prep time, so tomorrow is Caramel making day!  I make Rosemary’s Caramels every year to give away (well not give all of them away).  Can I tell you how delicious they are…

5 responses

Comments are closed.