Dropping out

My Drops cardie is almost done.  I’ve not got enough yarn for a collar and it fits well.  The problem?  I just don’t LOVE it.  I like it fine, but that is not love.  I LOVE the yarn and I don’t want to settle for a sweater I only like.
Does that make sense?
I’ve been thinking about the pieces of this project that I like:  the cables of course and the reverse stockinette is lovely and rustic.
I don’t like the garter stitch yoke because of the change in density from the reverse stockinette, it just doesn’t work for me.  And while I like the longer sweater length, shortening the sweater a tad will give me enough for a good collar, not some compromise thing.
The verdict:  I think this will get ripped.  What it will become is still up in the air.  Any suggestions?
P.S.  If tomorrow (2/19) is your birthday, happy birthday…xoxo
10 responses

  1. Heavy-heartedly agreeing that the density change between yoke and body are all wrong. I guess you’re not a **real** knitter until you can admit the project needs to be undone re-knit. Sometimes it helps to have a friend do the unravelling and just be faced with fresh yarn cakes.

  2. Oh, I agree with you. It’s ok, but the change between the body & yoke is just not right. It’s such pretty yarn. Frog it, and let it tell you what it wants to be when it grows up!

  3. Wow – you are a brave woman. I don’t know if I’d have the courage. Good for you for realizing that it’s not a LOVE sweater. Better now than just sitting on your shelf never to be worn. Good luck.

  4. The proportions are off, you’re right. I’d make the welt and cuff ribbing match the narrowness of the cable strands, decrease the flare of the lower bodice, shift the cable panels out a tad (the placket width and texture detracts at the current spacing), extend the cable panels all the way up and maybe convert the shoulders to a modified raglan saddle or even conventional set-in sleeve (tricky where the front and back cable panels hit the shoulder, and hmm, moving the panels outward a bit gives you more room to play with collar/neckline shapes. I do like the way the cables look in that yarn. Good luck!

  5. I’m not liking the ribbing. It doesn’t seems to flow very well. As for the garter top, I agree, it’s got to go. If you change it to plain reverse stockinette, then you should have enough yarn for the collar.

Comments are closed.