Back in one piece

Ugh!  Eleven days on duty is offically too many.  Oh well, it’s over and done with.  I’ve got a few days off so that’s what I’ll focus on.

I finished a dress before the work marathon and didn’t like it much.  I tried it on again today and still don’t like it.  I guess we’ll call this one a fail.  I used McCall’s 5752 pattern and that graphic print poly from Fabrix in San Francisco.  The print on the knit doesn’t read quite so horizontally in person, and that slippery poly is a pain to work with.  Luckily it’s $2.69 a yard, so experimenting is cheap.

I have much more unflattering pictures of this dress hugging my ass and hips, but those pics are so not going onto the internet, so just take my word for it.  My gripes are that plunging gaping neck, the wonky side seams that I can’t make lay flat (poly doesn’t iron well) and the way the material clings like crazy to my butt (junk in the trunk in a horizontal print!).  The midriff has this ruched area front and back, and in theory that should be flattering.  It’s not, it looks like some sort of marsupial pouch after the baby’s left.

I think this pattern would work better for me with a firmer knit in a solid color or smaller print.  A fuller A-line skirt or some gathering at the waist would be more flattering asswise. 

Perhaps I’ll try a wrap dress with a full skirt next.  I still like the feel of wearing the poly knit, but perhaps I’ll make the wrap in a solid knit color or a cotton knit.  The other good thing about this pattern is that it’s super fast to make.  So while it’s a fail, it was cheap and fast.  Will I make it again, no.  I shall have to look around for a dress meeting the criteria derived from the fail points of this dress.  Second time’s the charm, hopefully.

9 responses

  1. Don’t those pageant girls spray their butts with something so their gowns don’t stick? ;^)

    Yeah, not really a winner, but a learning experience. Next one will be fab.

  2. I’m glad you said you didn’t like it, because I didn’t like it in the picture at ALL. I would tactfully have neglected to leave a comment rather than hurting your feelings by telling you so, but am much happier to be able to agree with you!

  3. I am so jonesing for a Diane von F style wrap dress in a print just like that one.

    Oh well. Back to the drawing board, so to speak.

    P.S. All that greenery is making me a little envious.

  4. I think you need to go up a size…simply due to the fabric you are using, not because of you!

    I also think you need to definitely whack some length on the skirt…and shorten the sleeves.

    It’s a summary/light dress, but it’s covering up too much of your body! Going up a size would help it be floaty/airy vs. clingy…then again, nothing might make it that airy and floaty!

  5. How about a wide red belt/sash with it to break up the pattern half-way? Doesn’t solve the problem with the clingy fabric, but makes the pattern less overwhelming. And I agree that maybe a couple of inches shorter (above or mid-knee) would be more flattering.

  6. Win some, lose some. I’ve had those experiences, too. It’s funny that you’re thinking of a wrap dress, because I have been too. I just wish it was warm enough to go outside without a coat on!

Comments are closed.