Cormo Villane

Villane is finally finished!  I managed to find the last few buttons at the fourth Joann store I tried and finished sewing them before I misplaced them.  I still need to block the sweater, but we’re expecting rain soon so this was my last bit of nonrainy daylight photo time.  The cormo really looks best photographed without flash.  So please forgive the crappy headless pic, it really was the best I could do.
The sweater itself is a very easy bottom up, one piece raglan construction.  I didn’t change anything with the pattern, it’s fine as written in my opinion.  My stitch counts at the neck transition were a bit off but as long as you can make the raglan lines blend into the ribbed collar you did it right in my book.  The sleeve cables are very easy, no complicated criss-crossing and it’s easy to see where you are on the cable chart in case your post it note row minder falls off.  I used one row buttonholes and a regular old bind off for the double rib because I was too lazy to do a tubular bind off – and I thought tubular might pull in too much.  I also spit spliced my cormo, which is oddly the first time I used that technique.  Turns out it works great if you’re using nice sticky wool.
All in all a good easy project, very suitable for a cable shy novice or anyone wanting a peaceful undemanding project.  The wool is my favorite Foxhill Farm Cormo Cross purchased at last year’s New York Sheep and Wool, so tradition has it that this Villane will make the trek across the U.S. and be worn at this year’s festival.  I shall probably wear it to purchase more cormo to feed my yearly obsession.  The addiciton cycle, you know.
14 responses

  1. That is Fabulous- it looks so delicious in the greenery behind you. The cabled sleeves are lily-padesque. Well Done and Hooray for You!

  2. That looks great! Was worth the button search.

    Yeah, Cormo. Probably pilly, but y’know, I can forgive it just about anything.

    Saw Alice on Saturday. She’s been busy lambing and shearing.

  3. Hey Sil, this sweater turned out really great. Love the green, love the arm cables. Looks like you’ll have a go-to sweater for lots of occassions.

  4. That is lovely on you. And, you have your Rhinebeck sweater done months in advance! Gold star for Sil!

    This year I’m buying Cormo too. Mark my words.

Comments are closed.