Dress frenzy

Because my vacation is over, I thought I’d pick up my spirits with this last dress of my summer break.
This is Burda Style 7517 view A, described as a semi-fitted dress on the pattern envelope information.  As descriptive as that information is, I think we can expand on that a bit.  This dress is a boat neck, sleeveless A-line with neck and waist pleats in the front and neck darts and waist pleats in the front.  There is a side seam zipper and I used an invisible zip.
I searched the stash for material that could delicately be molded into the creased bodice and I chose this poly crepe.  As you can see, the neck and waist tucks are pretty much the only design feature of this dress.  I have a 34 B bust and these tucks really emphasize the boobages.  I think if my personal chestal area was on the large side, I would not choose this bodice style.  That’s just me though.
I made no mods for this pattern, in fact I just looked at the finished measurements and guesstimated my size and started cutting.  That worked out since I think it fits me pretty well.
I’m supposed to be having a Manhattan layover on Friday, so stay tuned for some fabric shopping.  I should have time for a quick a.m. shop if all goes according to plan.  Unfortunately JFK airport does not always cooperate.  Fingers crossed!
7 responses

Comments are closed.