Happier than the photo suggests

New Look 6802 view D is done.  Actually it’s been done for awhile, but the great plague of 2010 had to pass before I could share.

I ended up liking this dress, but am still VERY confused by the choice of knit fabric.  The pattern calls for a two-way stretch knit that needs to stretch a certain distance per a chart on the pattern envelope.  My rayon jersey has crossway stretch and easily stretched the required distance across the width.  There is no stretch lengthwise (one way stretch).  Clearly I used the wrong fabric because the overlay is twisted and loses all ability to stretch. Yes, you can still wear the dress happily, but I think that’s just chance.  It’s snug across the overlay and the underdress kind of bunches up underneath, it’s probably not noticeable to anyone other than me, but ERRRR.  A two or four-way stretch fabric would be the way to go on this one, just like the pattern envelope says (dork).

Mods:  I raised the armholes 1/2″ and redrew the curve to make a proper sleeveless garment; cut crossway stretch bands 1 3/4″ inches wide and folded them in half to clean finish armholes and neckline; took out most of the front ruching; lined the skirt with Raiders silver football jersey material.

I used the narrow twin needle for hems and facing topstitching and added clear elastic to the shoulder seams for stability.

Overall it’s a win, but just by luck.

6 responses

  1. I’m glad to see you survived the plague! The dress does look nice despite your error. You’re right – you’re the only one that’ll ever know.

  2. When you post photos of such great dresses that you make, it makes me (almost) want to sew. Almost. I’ve tried, I’m hopeless. But your homemade couture is fabulous!!! Glad you are feeling better, too.

  3. Love your title!

    The dress looks great – I think you should make another one! Now that you’ve got it all figured out, it should be a snap. I just wove in the ends of a sweater last night, and immediately started on another one just like it, in a different color.

    Sadly, my sewing machine has decided it no longer wants to zigzag. We need to try cleaning and oiling it, but if that doesn’t work, I need to decide if it’s worth spending nearly what I paid for it to get it fixed, or just put that money towards a new one.

Comments are closed.