Sweater done!

The upside of being in bed for a week with the sicky plague allowed me to knit.  I couldn’t read or sew with my icky head, but knitting with size 6 needles and worsted weight yarn kept the boredom at bay.  Consequently I finished my Lamb’s Lace Cardi in record time.

This is a pretty easy, straight forward top down raglan.  The pattern is error free but isn’t really that detailed for those needing more involved instructions.  I wish it had stitch counts to check progress and technical drawings with measurements.  I know I’m crazy for technical drawings but that is the best tool to see if you’re on the right track.   Just my two cents.  You can successfully make a sweater from the pattern as is.

Details:  pattern is Lamb’s Lace Cardi; yarn is GGH Bali in black 7.25 ball used (1052m); changed the sleeves to 3/4 length; added a bit of length to the bodice (the advantage of a top down construction – trying on as you knit); increased at the side sides rather than increasing a bunch of stitches at two set points; used a one row buttonhole as it’s a nicer looking finish.

I think I’ll actually wear this sweater, it’s a good weight for my California climate and it’s black – my perfect color!

6 responses

  1. It looks fabulous! And you’ll be able to wear it with just about anything.
    Hope you’re feeling better, too!
    I’m right with you on those schematics. It’s hard to know if you want to make any adjustments if you don’t know what the details are to begin with.

  2. Wow, Sil! That sweater is gorgeous. I think black looks great on anyone with pale skin and especially with red hair. (I have one in my house, so I pretend to be an expert…)

  3. That’s a great sweater! It looks infinitely useful AND stylish. I know what you mean about schematics, esp in top down and esp if your row gauge is sometimes comparatively wonky. (Not that my row gauge is EVER wonky.)

Comments are closed.