Low country knitting

I was off for a few days and was knitting faithfully on my Nordic yoke Drops-esque sweater.  But I ripped it all out when I measured the work and found it was huge.  Huge!

Don’t worry, I recast on using this interesting cast on.  I recalculated and my knitting now looks like the last picture I posted of the body of a grey stockinette sweater.  Interesting it is not.

My travel project is a tad more interesting, at least to me.  I am a huge Romi fan, so it was time to cast on for the third small shawl in her ebook (I’m a tad behind the pace).  Celaeno is a lovely scarf (I actually have a problem calling something a shawl because I usually don’t like those patterns).  I really like the simple garter paired with the lacy bits.  So pretty, but not in your face “I’m lace”.  Subtle and pretty.  My yarn is from the most recent Rhinebeck and is Ellen’s Half Pint Farm 100% Merino Sock.  It’s dyed a super pretty midnight purple with very slight variegation.  Perfect in fact for Celaeno.  But no beads.  I don’t bead thank you.

What you see is the easy start of Celaeno, making it perfect for a travel project, namely Savannah World Series watching (go Giants!).  The start is just garter and increases.  Easy to remember, even if you’re super tired (like now).

I’m still working on Romi’s second project Maia.  That scarf is almost done, but it’s not at a travel project stage, too many details to get right.  Fear not, it’s close 🙂

3 responses

  1. Hmmm… garter stitch…. That should be lovely and warm against your neck. Because, ya know, CA gets soooo cold! 😉

    (I do realise that in the mountains and at night it does get “nippy”!)

Comments are closed.