More tropical waves

It’s actually brighter than the bad iphone pic suggests and I adore this colorway!  Doesn’t it remind you of  parrots?  The yarn is actually the yummy Knitterly Things Vesper Sock in the Sweetwater colorway.  Perhaps Sweetwater was the name of her childhood parrot?

The socks are for Summer of Socks 2011 on Rav, which is just knitting a pair of socks a month for three months.  I kind of already do that so it’s not a big stretch for me, but I like the concept.  There are suggested sock patterns that you could follow, but you can just do your own thing if that works for you.  I opted for one of the variations of Summer Spirals, the first suggested pattern, since I wanted to use my Vesper Sock yarn.  The bright colored stripes didn’t lend themselves to the cabled pattern (though it’s not technically a cable – just crossed stitches) but there are two variations given with the pattern and I chose Spiral Wave.  The Sprial Wave just puts some texture into the sock but doesn’t compete with the stripes.  Easy enough to travel knit, yet interesting enough to keep the knitting going.

Clearly I’ve still got parrots on the brain from my night in San Juan as they had a big cage of parrots in the lobby of the hotel.  Don’t you love those open air Carribean hotel lobbies?  Muy tropical!  Viva los loros!

5 responses

  1. I love parrots 🙂 Those are some great looking socks – perfect pattern like you said. It’s Midwest Fiber & Folk Art Fair time in Chicagoland this weekend if you’re in town!

  2. One of my most favorite memories in life was sitting on the sill of an oversized second story window in our room I downtow San Jose costa rica. There was a woman who sold lottery tickets day from 7:00am to 10:00 pm with a street cry that sounded like a Spanish speaking parrot!

  3. Actually, you can knit as many pairs of socks as you like during the Summer of Socks. One a month is just for the along part of the summer and only for those who wanna.

    Love the stripes!

  4. Parroty. I love open-air hotel lobbies. Maui and Scottsdale, AZ are the two that I’ve seen. Wouldn’t mind a trip to PR myself, but that is probably not to be.

Comments are closed.