Tunics are black

Because my tendonitis still hurts and knitting is curtailed, I sew.  This black blob (at least that’s what it looks like in the pictures) is a cotton knee-grazing tunic/dress recently completed by moi.  Butterick 5555 is it’s official name.

The fabric is a cotton seersucker, but it’s a novelty seersucker.  What the heck does that mean?  The suckers are about 2″ wide and makes the dress look wobbly.  I think it’s nice, but if you’re a pressed and shoeshined kind of of person, you’d hate this dress.

What can I say, it’s an easy pattern.  Not to say I didn’t screw it up.  I did.  It’s supposed to have a little mandarin collar.  Don’t see that do you?  I forgot all about it and finished the neck.  Just the front neck, mind.  Then I had to figure out a way to finish the back neck without making it look all janky.  I used a bias strip and it’s worked out ok, black and cotton are very forgiving.  I shortened the dress about 1″ and that’s about the only mod I made.

I’m wearing a belt in one picture, but honestly I’ll never wear this belted.  It drove me mad just taking pictures in a belt.  A whole day?  Insanity!

Pattern Review here.

3 responses

Comments are closed.