When a C is a good thing

Why yes, that is a Frigidaire behind me.

My sewing mojo is slowly coming back to life.  Luckily this coincided with the release of the Audrey C pattern from MariaDenmark.  This is good basic knit dress pattern that she’s released in both B and C cup versions.  I snapped up the Audrey C version, printed it out and only moaned a little bit while taping up and cutting out the pattern.  I’m not a fan of taping and cutting even though it’s not a hard process.  This pattern is just front/back/sleeve/cuff/facings so it’s not too onerous a task.

Next step was to find some fabric in the stash that would work.  The only piece that was suitable was this cerise cotton/rayon that I don’t remember buying.  It’s got a fair bit of 4 way stretch and is textured with a slight stripe effect.  The fabric is beefy enough to be dress so this was the winner.  Too much cling would be icky in a dress, no?  Fabric selection is pretty key to making a success of this pattern and I’d love to try it in a ponte.

I added 3/8″ seam allowance to the pattern since I planned to serge this puppy together like my dining room sewing space was a sweat shop.  Heck ya – power sewing.  Because most of the sewing was done on the serger this only took a couple of hours to put together and I followed the directions exactly (I know!).  Easy as pie.  This should make a good travel dress with leggings or tights.  I plan on making another when I find some nice material for it.  Maria’s version is made from tiny polka dots and is freaking adorable.  Eyes open for dotty fabric!

P.S.  I had to take pics in the kitchen because the sun blazes down on my usual morning picture spot by the afternoon.  I hadn’t noticed before how well my hair matches the cabinets…enjoy my appliances yo!

PatternReview here for more details.

6 responses

  1. I love it! Great color on you too. I’m bookmarking the pattern for when I have time and a body to sew for again.

  2. Wonderful! Looks like a super piece for travel – great for many different occasions. I think what I really need is to find someone I can hire to make clothes for me, without breaking the bank. Yeah, right. Like that will happen.

Comments are closed.