Artisan

Yes, it is as yummy as it looks. It tastes buttery with a super crunchy crust. Heaven!

I made bread.  If you’re thinking “you make bread all the damn time”, you’d be right.  This is “artisan” bread.  I checked Flour Water Salt Yeast: The Fundamentals of Artisan Bread and Pizza out of my library and tried out the “beginner” loaf of white bread today.  It took all day.  Really.  It’s not much actual work but apparently the timings and temperatures are the thing.

The gorgeous bread you see is called “The Saturday White Bread” and is a beginner recipe that the author suggests you try so you can understand the concepts of the book.  The entire time I was making this loaf I was convinced it was a hot mess that wouldn’t amount to more than a pancake.  Lo and behold this baked up to be a pretty loaf of bread.  I used the equipment I had on hand and my oval dutch oven and it all came out well.

My dilemma?  I live in a place where I can walk two blocks to a local grocery and have 10 different artisan bakery loaves from which to choose.  Price?  $4 to 5.  I’ve also got one of the best bread bakeries in the country about one mile from my house, so why bake bread?  Because I like baking bread is the best answer I’ve got.

This Saturday loaf is delish, which is amazing considering it is literally flour, water, salt and yeast.  And oh yeah, TIME.  I guess it’s like sewing and knitting, I can buy what I need much more quickly than I can make it, but there is something satisfying about making it yourself.  All you need is time and will.  That may mean that I start the two day wheat bread tomorrow…TWO DAYS!  You heard me!  It better be amazing.

5 responses

  1. That’s exactly what bread SHOULD be. Flour, water, salt and yeast. It’s unfortunate that it’s hard to actually buy bread with only those ingredients (except for artisan bakeries, of course). You might be interested in this (unfortunately long) video about why bread needs time, which I just saw this morning: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gysMNgARdeo

  2. Its reason enough to do something, that you enjoy it. Plenty of “hobbies” yield nothing, and yours result in deliciousness! SCORE!

  3. That looks delish! The slow nature of making a good bread really feels like an indulgence, non? So little time for the most basic things in life, I think it’s great that you enjoy some of the slow love 🙂

  4. Gorgeous! That looks absolutely delicious!!!! And the shirt you made is stunning! Glad to see you are well! There’s a *slim* chance I might actually stop by Rhinebeck this year…Hopefully you and Claudia still make the annual trek and I will see you there!

Comments are closed.