Belated socks

Lacy and lovely.

The birthday socks are done!  They were only a month late.  Gulp!

The birthday girl has her socks and she says she likes them and they fit.  My friend is always enthusiastic about hand made gifts but I think giving wool socks to a girl in Los Angeles is a tad misguided on my part.  Oh well, they’re lacy and have natural air conditioning to suit the LA climate, right?

Ok, the specs on this sock are:

Pattern:  Sarang by Natalia Vasilieva (free!)

Yarn:  Madeline Tosh Sock in sugar plum (not free)

Mods:  I just used my plain vanilla sock recipe and used the Sarang charts with short row heels and toes.  I did add one plain repeat with no pattern at the back heel needles before starting the heel to give the heel more visual symmetry and to make it more comfortable to wear.  I only have one blurry, off-color picture saved of the socks where you can see the heel here.  You were warned about the shoddiness of the photo.  I also made the socks about 7.5″ long and used a regular cable cast on.

If you’re looking for a lacy pattern this one is quite pretty.  The lace pattern is reminiscent of a peacock feather and isn’t hard at all.  Give it a go!

4 responses

  1. The socks look great!! Great for you finding the time to finish something! I am feeling the urge to make some socks. (It does get cold here is my reasoning.)

    Also, the top from the prior post looks great. I’m glad your finally getting a bit of time off.

Comments are closed.