Gray matter

The wrinkles aren’t bad in real life when I’m not standing funny plus a bonus sneaky peaky of the flowery pocket lining.

In my continuing effort to make clothes I actually wear (as opposed to fun dresses and skirts that get minimal wear) I made gray pants.  I was a bit ambivalent about them when I finished them since curvy girls are supposed to wear wide pants to hide the assets (per TV advice shows), but I like skinny pants so boo on them.

I bought some fabric online, which I never do since I’m blessed with a few stores here in the San Francisco area and this gray cotton stretch sateen was ONE (cough cough) of the pieces.  It was described as medium weight and it is, especially compared to the other piece of bottom fabric I bought which was described as a heavier weight.  I thought the medium weight with great stretch would be a nice fabric for the 5 pocket skinny jean that Burda Style had in their 3/2014 magazine.

Top arrow is The Great British Sewing Bee that I was watching to sustain my sewing momentum. The bottom arrow is the 1.25″ wedge that needed to be taken out to make the back waist fit.

Based on what I learned in the wonderful pant making classes by Sandra Betzina on Craftsy, I thought my skills were up to all that topstitching.  I measured the pattern vs. body measurements and noted this pattern has zero to negative ease.  Any wearing ease comes from the stretch in the fabric.  Fine, my fabric is quite stretchy.  I left in a bit of positive ease for fit insurance and had at it.

I made the pants basically following the instructions (this is the featured illustrated pattern so the instructions are rather more extensive than the usual Burda brevity).  I should have changed a few things to correspond to what I learned in Sandra’s class.  The fly turned out ok, but if I do it Sandra’s way it comes out perfectly so I’ve made a note to change the pattern the next time I make it.  I’d also change the waistband to a contour band to better fit my waist.  Despite altering the back seam to get rid of a huge gap, the straight cut waistband doesn’t hug my back waist as I’d like.  Easy fix though.

Other than having to unpick the back seam and the topstitching I got a good fit.  In fact my mom thought they were too tight and my friend said they fit fine and maybe they should be tighter (not gonna happen btw).  I did test wear them out to dinner and they didn’t kill me after a hearty meal, so I think they’re fine.  Are they the most flattering pants in the world on me, probably not but I think they’ll get worn.  Imagine them in an outfit instead of a tee yanked up for a picture in my living room and they’re fine.  If I’m crazy let me know before I head out in these in daylight!

11 responses

  1. Well done, I really like them! Having said that, maybe there could be some improvement on the front *cough* crotch wrinkles? But now I have your fitting book (which, btw, I’ve made good use of despite my blog silence!) …

  2. The fit looks great and if they feel good then their right. Your next pair will be perfect. It’s very cool to learn all the tips that bring a project close to perfection.

  3. Congratulations, great job on the pants. I think you will get a lot of wear out of them, especially since the color is so neutral. I am curious to see what other goodies you got online, and from where.

  4. Looking good, I think! If you’ve got curves, show ’em! Seriously, I think these pants look very good on you, Ms. Goldilocks, not too big, not too small, just right. I like the color, it will be so versatile. From whence did you buy the fabric? I would like to know who advertises fabric weights correctly, as so many do not.

Comments are closed.