Cross ’em if you’ve got ’em

Much better than a hard boiled Easter egg.

I’ve been a bad blogerina the past few weeks.  My knitting mojo is nonexistent (even though I keep picking out new projects), my sewing on a super cute summery dress has stalled and I spend in inordinate amount of time taking care of a momma with a broken foot.  I’ve been to work one day in the last two weeks, so now I have to work all the trips I pushed together in the last week of the month, back to back to back.  Starting tomorrow.

Long explanation of why there’s a baked good displayed instead of crafting.  I made hot cross buns on Easter because they are traditional Easter buns and more importantly, they are delicious.  My favorite recipe is from Paul Hollywood and is here.  I make it in the Kitchenaid mixer, but if you want to do it manually, go for it.  The only things I do differently are to skip the whole milk (who has that hanging around the house) and use Trader Joe’s Golden Berry Blend (golden raisins, cherries, cranberries and blueberries) in place of raisins and candied peel.  I like candied peel, but I think I may be the only one who does so it stays out.  I also don’t glaze the buns with the apricot jam because it makes them sticky and harder to eat at speed.  Other than that, made as written.  Delicious.

I hope I finish my dress before I leave tomorrow so I’ve got a crafty swerve going on, if not be prepared for random pictures from random cities on my April whirlwind tour of duty.  Be well friends.

3 responses

  1. Mmmh, that looks delish! I used to bake a lot, but now I have nobody to bake for, and all those baked goods would go straight into my mouth. You are such a good daughter, taking care of your Mom, at least you seem to be able to choose and pick when you work, even though now comes the payback. Safe travels, try to post a pix of random city if you can. I think all of us glued to our desks in our cubes would really appreciate that.

Comments are closed.