Saucy girl!

Before, during and after.

Seriously, what’s up with me and the puns?

I’ve made my first batch of roasted tomato sauce and I’m a fan.  Very easy and delicious.  I used this recipe because it seemed reasonable and used doable quantities.  My freezer is pretty full and I don’t need a gallon of anything.  I’d guess this is enough sauce for a pound of pasta but I’m batching mine up for personal use.  First scoops will be used on pizza.  Made the recipe as written, though I’d probably skip adding butter next time – but on second thought butter never hurt anyone.

Every time I go to Greenstring Farm for tomatoes I worry that they’ll be over, but I may have time to make another batch or two of this sauce before that happens.  First I have to go to work but my mind will be on tomatoes!

 

6 responses

    • It’s good sauce and worked well for pizza. Froze some but tomatoes should still be around when you’re here. I think!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  1. Isn’t it fabulous to do sauce that way? I never measure anything for it. I just take however many tomatoes I have (I’ve done anywhere from 3 lbs to 8 lbs), cut them in half and throw them in an appropriate-sized pan with some onions, garlic, a lot of mixed fresh herbs, some salt, and a glug or two of olive oil. If I have them, I’ll add some peppers (hot or sweet), eggplant, zucchini, fennel, carrots, whatever. Roast at 450 in 30-minute increments until as cooked and reduced as you like. (The lower temp is probably better for such a small batch, though.) It never tastes exactly the same twice, but it has always been delicious. And so easy! I’ve never added sugar, since the roasting brings out so much sweetness. I have lots of herbs in the garden, so I’m usually using basil, oregano, thyme, parsley, and tarragon. I put some fennel pollen in the latest batch.

Comments are closed.