Yards and yards of love

A first taste of purchases – these are the two that I think I’ll use first.

I was forced to buy fabric.  Really.  It was probably the last, best thing I’ve done.  Since then my week has been absolute shit.  I’m now intimately familiar with the deductible on my car insurance.  My other car’s smog check is now turning into a multi-day slog and the upcoming lunar eclipse can only spell disaster for me.

So let’s focus on the fabric.  I’ll just start by showing the first two pieces I think I’m going to use.  It’s a bit dull to see a big old pile of fabric in posts so I’ll bore you little by little.  The other day I got sent to New York and actually had a layover in Manhattan.  It’s not too often I get a long layover, mostly I stay by the airport.  It was a beautiful day so I thought I’d spend a bit of time down in the fabric district picking up some yardage.  I didn’t spend much money and I only had about two hours but I made the most of it.  I went to my favorite haunts from FIT days and they’d all moved around (except Mood) but Steinlauf and Stoller had the EXACT same dusty window display from my time there in the mid 1990s.  Love that, and love them since they have everything you’ll ever need notion wise.

So the fabrics, above is a sweater knit merino/cotton Italian fabric from Mood for a luxurious slouchy top.  Bottom fabric is cotton from B&J Fabrics that is much lighter than quilting cotton but a bit heavier than voile.  Perfect for a tailored blouse.  I’d not been to B&J since they moved to 7th Avenue (@38th St. 2nd floor – you’re welcome).  Their fabrics are on headers on racks so you can easily see prints and feel the hand.  Nice!  Plus it’s quicker, time is money people.

So those are my plans but my crap luck may alter those plans somewhat.  Plus I’m going to have to go back to work soon and they’ll be some long trips.  Sigh.  I’ll get over my bad self, don’t worry.  Hope you’re all well!

3 responses

  1. Oh, poor dear! I’m glad the fabric therapy helped raise the quality of your week. Good tea & really good chocolate is my go to for bad days. Hope it all gets better soon.

  2. I love that blue sweater knit. And that maritime cotton will make a cute blouse. I had to laugh at your comment about Steinlauf & Stoller, so true. And that lady (is her name Nancy?) has been there all along as well. I always feel sorry for her, it seems like she lives in that little nook. Feel better!

Comments are closed.