A hat to end the year

Can’t get a decent shot of it worn, at least you can see the cables here.

I wanted to make a hat for a friend’s Christmas package and did a quick troll trough Ravelry.  I settled on the Kemuri Hat pattern by Olga Buraya-Kefelian because I liked the cables and and it was DK weight yarn so I could actually finish the darn hat in a reasonable time.

I wanted to make this out of some super soft yarn and found some Plymouth Yarn Baby Alpaca DK at my LYS.  The yarn is very soft and nice to wear, but perhaps I should have chosen a yarn with a tad more body for cables.  It doesn’t look bad, but the cables don’t pop with such squishy yarn.

The cast on in the pattern is a tubular cast on and doesn’t look too bad on, but looks a bit lumpy unstretched, no?  Perhaps I’m being too hard on this little gift hat.  It’s a good pattern, in super soft yarn and will look nice on the recipient.  That’s a win.

Hope everyone is finding some peace and stillness this hectic season.

See, can’t get a decent shot of it on the old melon. At least you can see the slight slouchy fit here.

One response

  1. Yes, you are being too hard on the gift hat. Its very cute just as it is. The tubular cast on looks quite like every tubular cast-on I’ve ever knit. Stretched is its natural habitat.

Comments are closed.