Year of the sheep

Terrible picture, but it was the pick of the bunch.

It was comforting to know that this year will be the year of the sheep in the lunar calendar.  I like sheep, they’re cute and provide the wool with which I like to knit.  To that end I finished my sleeves-as-swatch for Grettir.  Because showing off two sleeves, gray sleeves to boot, would be the dullest of all dull posts I’ll have to think of something else.

How about a dress, a gray dress ironically?  I whipped this Lady Skater dress up in no time, using up a piece of jersey that had served it’s time in the garage stash.  There are tons of Lady Skaters all over the web so my dress isn’t that earth shattering.

As you can tell from my poor quality photo, I made a 3/4 sleeve, round neck jersey dress with an A-line skirt.  The only change I made was to shorten the bodice about 1/2 to 3/4″.  I can’t remember and can’t be bothered to look for the pattern now.  But the point is that I wanted the dress to hit above natural waist, but not empire.  Also I know that the weight of the skirt will pull down the bodice a tad, so I raised it up before trouble would be caused.

A better view of the skirt length. Needs at least another inch…

I sewed this up very quickly and skipped all the clear elastic.  Not necessary on my dress and totally uncomfortable to wear at the waist.  Of course I’ve not worn this dress yet so I may live to regret that idea.

If I made this again I’d lengthen it about 1 1/2″ since it’s a tad short, not unwearable but I’ll need leggings/tights to keep things where they should be seen.  I shall have to wear the dress to see if the bodice is comfortable or will need a smidge of adjustment.

So this is a quick make if you’re wanting something easy to work on while you decide what to make next.  Thank goodness for the stretch since I’ve made a candy/cookie eating spectacle of myself all holiday.  A new leaf has been turned over, but I’m still waiting for the love handles to recede.

3 responses

  1. That is extremely cute on you. I quite like the length in terms of style, but I understand the annoying riding-up issue. The waist looks really good.

  2. That is a super cute dress on you! Maybe I need to get me that pattern (once I finally push myself to sew with knits). I am in the same boat with you about the the cookie bonanza thing. (It is all my co-workers fault for supplying them). Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.