First jam!

The before ingredients.

The bounty at the farm down the street isn’t quite ready yet, but luckily Whole Foods had a special on strawberries that I couldn’t resist.  Strawberries, rhubarb (and maybe some Pliny the Elder) jumped into my basket so I had to come home and make a jar of jam.  As usual, one pound of fruit, lowish sugar (scant 1/2c) and no added pectin (except for juice and rind of one lemon) makes one yummy jam.  This strawberry rhubarb is my favorite since it’s nice and tangy.  I may have to make some bread to complement the jam.  Whole Foods seems to have made a lot of work for me!

Hopefully I’ll have a ridiculous franken-patterned dress to share soon.  I should clarify, the dress isn’t ridiculous but the fabric is a novelty print that I couldn’t resist.  Barring any boo boos, it should be done soon.

The delicious after.

2 responses

  1. Looks yummie! I have been making that jam ever since you turned me on to it. The best I made so far, was with italian plums, when they were ripe last summer. I agree with you on the waistband thing from you last post, it is too restricting. The skirt looks really good! Where did you get the zipper! Steinlauf and Stoller?

Comments are closed.