Drape experiment

I recently bought Drape Drape 2 and wanted to try out one of the patterns.  Top number 4 is an asymmetrical side drape top that you trace off from the enclosed pattern sheet.

That sounds pretty simple.  Except that the pattern is just one piece and it’s big.  So I put it off because it seemed like such a pain.  I did eventually get around to tracing it and it wasn’t as onerous as I thought it would be.  Isn’t that just the way?

So pattern traced (1 cm seam allowances are included), neckline raised 3″ (yes it’s super low), two seams sewn.  Yup, just two body seams.  I added a neckband and didn’t bother hemming the sleeves and bottom since it won’t fray as is and I don’t know if this will get worn.

I made the large size (since I’m not Japanese lady sized) and my bust measurement is pretty much off the chart.  I used a very stretchy 4 way stretch rayon knit to try to get this to drape and fit, so I get a good drape, but this top is clingy and I don’t like cling.

So my Drape Drape 2 experiment is rather so so.  Interesting process but the end result may not get worn.  I shall hold onto it for a bit and see if I can wear this comfortably.

3 responses

  1. I kinda like it🙂 but to make it work for you, I’d think you’d have to fiddle with the sleeves. And maybe the bust area … all those folds pointing😀 could be just the bra, tho?
    And now I feel like a weirdo🙂
    Overall, I think it’s just a hair away from being a super flattering top.

  2. What an interesting shape that pattern is. Even though I see it on you, I can’t really visualize how it was sewn up. Not-shocking visual-spatial deficit.

  3. I have to hand it to you, you are not afraid to try new things. Very intersesting indeed! Greetings from the old Country (time to stock up on Aromat)

Comments are closed.