Gray roots

It’s actually quite warm and sunny for these shots, so that’s why I forgot I had on sunglasses and why I didn’t wait to take a “good one”. It’s way too warm for this sweater today!

I actually need to do a root touch up, but I digress.  I started this Grettir in August and now she’s done.  Uh, what?  August 2014!?!  What!  14 months for a worsted weight sweater?  I’m going to get my needles yanked at this pace.

Well  obviously I let this one age for about a year, because even with a full time job and a million people nagging my ass for stuff it should only take a few weeks to make this sweater.  So don’t be put off by the lapse of time here.

Now for details.  The pattern is Grettir by Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed.  The yarn is Brooklyn Tweed Shelter and I chose to knit the gray colorway shown in the pattern for the male version.  I love gray!  Just not on my roots, natch.  The pattern is exceedingly well written and it taught me a new and much superior way for a tubular cast on.  Why is this way not in Montse Stanley (my resident book guru)?  I made no modifications, knit as writ and it worked out well.  Note:  when I went to Am*zon to get a book link I saw that this wonderful book is available used for $0.38!!  I may buy another just because!

The wool is Brooklyn Tweed Shelter and I used Soot (MC), Cast Iron, Sweatshirt and Snowbound.  I enjoyed knitting with this yarn, it had a bit of spring on my needles, very little vegetative matter or knots and beautiful coloring.  I will certainly be using this yarn again.  I have no problem wearing this knitted fabric next to my skin, but that’s a personal decision.  That said, it’s not been below 70 degrees since I finished this sweater and there is no way I’ll need this around these hot parts for weeks so we shall see if that changes.

So for those interested in a well written pattern for and Icelandic yoke sweater, keep this one in mind.  And because you don’t ever get to see my garage on the blog, I took some shots out there for giggles.  You’re welcome.

Among the detritus trying to look like a car show model – not! Xmas tree upper left on shelf btw…

3 responses

Comments are closed.