Dotty fail

The shar pei of Morris Blazers.

Well that’s an underwhelming result.  This is the Morris Blazer from Grainline made in a knit that is obviously not the right fabric.  My knit was not stable enough and I had to fight with the facings to get them in.  I interfaced all the facings with fusible knit but that made them too stable to work with the uninterfaced fabric.  What I got was all those droopy wrinkles.

The pattern itself is not to blame, it’s all down to fabric choice.  The pattern recommends a stable knit or a stretch woven.  I may try this again in a stretch cotton sateen that I’ve got stashed to see if I can make this a success.  There are several cute versions online, so this is just probably down to inappropriate fabric.  Luckily the fabric was fairly cheap from Joann with a 40% coupon, but I can’t help thinking I should have used this fabric for a Linden Sweatshirt since I like that pattern very much.  Alas, live and learn.  Onwards.

One response

Comments are closed.