Ponies and yoga

Wool skirts in summer?

The word around these parts is PT.  I am rehabbing my knee, which seems to be taking forever, but am reliably informed is the normal amount of time.  I am trying to be patient and be a good patient but it’s slow!

To that end I’ve been crafting a bit to take the place of going to work and earning money.  I’ve made tons of pj bottoms that don’t need to be documented since I’ve been making the same pair for years.  The pattern is a tracing off a pair from Old Navy that disintegrated years ago and has been made dozens of times over the years.  My latest two pairs feature flannel prints of London tourist attractions and bunnies in hot air balloons.  Serious comedy.

In the non-comedic sewing category I’ve got a cute Brooklyn skirt from Seamwork Magazine.  The fabric is lighter weight tick weave wool from Stone Mountain that has aged in the stash.  I WASHED and DRIED this fabric before sewing it up and it worked great.  I know, what a crazy idea.  I detest dry cleaning and the fabric is from the magical half price floor at Stone Mountain so I really didn’t have that much to lose by washing it.  The fabric shrunk a little but didn’t seem to mind laundering.  Win for me!  This skirt is a half-ish circle skirt with front pleat and is super easy to sew.  Seamwork instructions are very detailed if you’re not a confident sewist, but this is a four seam skirt.  Not brain surgery.  I hemmed it using some Snug Hug that I had to order online at Zipperstop (who I love btw) and had forgotten how wonderful Snug Hug is.  Rayon seam tape is the new yoga.

 

Yoga mats now with more ponies.

As for the old yoga, I’ve found a yoga class that I can do with my bum knee (I am one of the very few in the class who is below retirement age).  I tossed my yoga mat into the back of the Mazda and that works, but that poor mat gets all discombobulated back there with my haphazard driving.  Enter a yoga mat holder of some form gleaned from Lotta Jansdotter’s Everyday Style.  It’s just a deep narrow shopping type bag but it does the job.  And when you make it from some trotting pony fabric it super does the job.  This bag is so easy I made it during two episodes of The Mary Tyler Moore Show.  Now that’s quick.

So now you’re up to speed on my sewing recuperation.  There has been no knitting, but it has been super warm (dare I say hot lately) so no woolly mojo is being summoned.  It’s all about the Bernina.  And ankle weights, but that’s another story for another day.

Hope you’re all well!

3 responses

  1. Glad to see you’re on the mend. Hope that continues ahead of schedule! In any case, I’m hoping that you’ve got good crafting time on your hands….

Comments are closed.