Post pants era

They look like sweats don’t they?

So yup, I made pants. They look like sweats. Enough said?

I took the Pants Fitting Techniques class from Craftsy because pants are such a bugger to fit I usually avoid making them.  If I shop enough I can find pants that fit just fine without crazy making sewing.  Well that’s kind of like saying I’m afraid of pants (and any Brits know I mean trousers I hope) and that’s just dumb.

So I signed up for Sandra Betzina’s Craftsy class when it was on sale and it’s a fine class despite my big pants result.  She walks you through various pant alterations for different fitting issues and then you sew up a muslin with the changes you’ve made to your pattern.  This particular pattern is Sandra’s Today’s Fit pattern from Vogue (2948) which has princess seams down the leg to facilitate fit. :-0

My pants are too big, not through any fault of the class, but rather the fabric I used to make up the pants.  It’s a very drapey gabardene and it’s a rayon or rayon/poly blend.  It’s old and I’ve no actual idea where it came from or what’s in it, but I had enough to eke out these trousers to check my pattern.  Unfortunately my muslin was a nice tightly woven cotton sheet and that fit just great – mistake identified.  When I cut out the pattern in the fashion fabric, clearly there was a bit of spread.  I must say though this isn’t a knit and it doesn’t actually stretch, but spread it did apparently so that was a surprise.  Muslins lie and swatches lie.  Now I know.

Lots of cookie eating room there – not a good look though.

Instead of test fitting as I sewed, I just sewed these up to get them done because honestly they’re not my style and I knew I wasn’t going to ever wear them.  Well now I’m really not going to wear them because they look like sweats, only they have a back zipper.  The back of the pant needs loads taken in the leg area.  I did get a good butt fit which is rather ironic and that’s what I spent my time on altering in the class. I was all over that back crotch curve.  The back view shows how hammer pant they are below the badonkadonk though.  I know my pics aren’t great but black pants are hard to capture.  Look for the big arrow if you’re lost.  I could take them apart and take them in, but I just don’t like them enough to do that so they’re going in the donate pile.  That pile is getting big.

What did work today was chocolate chip cookies.  I made the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made and if you know me you’ll know that’s a big statement.  I used Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies and perhaps I should keep these pants because I’ve eaten so many cookies I’ll fit into them soon.

Kidding, they’re in the donate pile.