Not totally lazy

I think I’m looking at a spot on the kitchen floor wondering where it came from…

Sleeve tuck detail – couldn’t get good pics this day.

I’ve been on an medical leave since March when I had my knee “fixed”.  I’m using quotes because as any of you know who’ve been there, there is no fixed.  So long story short, I now have different pain from before, but pain is pain.  At least I have hope I will continue to get better since things have slowly been feeling better.  To that end I think my doc will cut me loose at my next appointment in about a week, so I can work.  Not a tragedy, it’s time.

To that impending event I thought I’d better get the lead out and finish a dress I’d started months ago and is laying around the dining room table that is my sewing space.  Literally months – like Januaryish!  Maybe February.  Still, pretty lame.  The dress is Cardamome from Deer & Doe and when I initially cut it out I thought the 3/4 sleeves would be grand.  Cut to June and blazing heat and 3/4 sleeves in a polyester crepe de chine sounds like a recipe for heatstroke.  Luckily I had lots of material and drafted a short sleeve, added 2″ of fullness and made it 3″ long.  I tried shirring the fullness into the armband but it looked dorky so I just made one big pleat and it gives the sleeve a kind of retro 40s shape.

Overexposed to try to show the yoke.

The dress itself is the Cardamome with the waistband variation (as opposed to the elastic shirred waist) and I left off the collar so I’ve just got a band collar.  The dress has a curved yoke that wasn’t super easy to do in polyester but not impossible.  There is a button front at the yoke and a side zipper to get the thing on plus pockets!  Pockets are a must.  It’s a super comfortable dress, mine is a smidge loose since that’s how I like it and it’s already been worn and washed since it was finally finished.

Now I better see where I put all my work stuff, out of sight out of mind.

One response

Comments are closed.